forks/vmdebootstrap.git
4 years agoCreate useable fstab for kfreebsd systems master
Christoph Egger [Sun, 1 Nov 2015 18:25:26 +0000 (19:25 +0100)]
Create useable fstab for kfreebsd systems

4 years agoAdd freebsd-variant of mounting dev, proc and sys in chroots
Christoph Egger [Sun, 1 Nov 2015 16:47:32 +0000 (17:47 +0100)]
Add freebsd-variant of mounting dev, proc and sys in chroots

4 years agoUse grub-probe instead of blkid on freebsd
Christoph Egger [Sun, 1 Nov 2015 16:47:28 +0000 (17:47 +0100)]
Use grub-probe instead of blkid on freebsd

grub-probe can identify the ufsid to use

4 years agoAlternatively use mdconfig instead of kpartx if run on freebsd
Christoph Egger [Sun, 1 Nov 2015 15:19:17 +0000 (16:19 +0100)]
Alternatively use mdconfig instead of kpartx if run on freebsd

4 years agofix typos
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 20:28:31 +0000 (21:28 +0100)]
fix typos

4 years agofix manpage typo
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 20:25:53 +0000 (21:25 +0100)]
fix manpage typo

4 years agoUpdate for systemd persistent interface mask
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 19:57:25 +0000 (20:57 +0100)]
Update for systemd persistent interface mask

Disable systemd persistent interface names as the actual PCI
output is unknowable at the time of creating the network
interface details.

4 years agoPrepare for 0.11 release
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 16:36:28 +0000 (17:36 +0100)]
Prepare for 0.11 release

4 years agoSimplify the networking checks
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 15:14:15 +0000 (16:14 +0100)]
Simplify the networking checks

4 years agoMerge branch 'bugs'
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 12:56:53 +0000 (13:56 +0100)]
Merge branch 'bugs'

4 years agoReinstate headless support if there is no /dev/tty
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 12:39:49 +0000 (13:39 +0100)]
Reinstate headless support if there is no /dev/tty

4 years agoExtend debootstrapopts support for multiple opts
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 12:28:38 +0000 (13:28 +0100)]
Extend debootstrapopts support for multiple opts

4 years agoAdd support for debootstrapopts
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 10:03:49 +0000 (11:03 +0100)]
Add support for debootstrapopts

In line with other wrapping tools which pass extra options using
the opts suffix, use support in recent cliapp to pass unchanged
options down to debootstrap. Deprecate --variant as this is only
used by debootstrap and is replaced by debootstrapopts.

4 years agoEnsure wheezy amd64 warning is only used with uefi
Neil Williams [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 10:06:12 +0000 (11:06 +0100)]
Ensure wheezy amd64 warning is only used with uefi

Closes: #798225

4 years agoPrepare 0.10 release
Neil Williams [Mon, 31 Aug 2015 17:24:10 +0000 (18:24 +0100)]
Prepare 0.10 release

Closes: #797445

4 years agoFix lookup of efi_arch_table for non-uefi arches
Neil Williams [Mon, 31 Aug 2015 17:22:22 +0000 (18:22 +0100)]
Fix lookup of efi_arch_table for non-uefi arches

4 years agoAdd UEFI information to manpage
Neil Williams [Sun, 16 Aug 2015 12:03:28 +0000 (14:03 +0200)]
Add UEFI information to manpage

4 years agoupdate README for UEFI addition
Neil Williams [Sun, 16 Aug 2015 12:01:39 +0000 (14:01 +0200)]
update README for UEFI addition

4 years agoInitial support for UEFI images
Neil Williams [Fri, 14 Aug 2015 19:38:55 +0000 (21:38 +0200)]
Initial support for UEFI images

4 years agoSpecific support for wheezy networking.
Neil Williams [Sat, 4 Jul 2015 08:50:37 +0000 (09:50 +0100)]
Specific support for wheezy networking.

4 years agotweak manpage output
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 12:32:21 +0000 (13:32 +0100)]
tweak manpage output

4 years agoimprove the kernel package option description.
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 12:28:35 +0000 (13:28 +0100)]
improve the kernel package option description.

4 years agoupdate for distro info
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 12:20:01 +0000 (13:20 +0100)]
update for distro info

4 years agoUpdate manpage example for current qemu message
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 11:49:43 +0000 (12:49 +0100)]
Update manpage example for current qemu message

4 years agoEnable networking in source directory
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 11:04:22 +0000 (12:04 +0100)]
Enable networking in source directory

To allow customisation in /etc/network/interfaces.d/,
ensure that /etc/network/interfaces looks into the
source directory and put the initial config in
a setup file in the source directory.

4 years agoLet acpid be omitted
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 11:03:02 +0000 (12:03 +0100)]
Let acpid be omitted

Debian Bug: #784638

4 years agoAdd distro-info support for kernel names
Neil Williams [Sun, 28 Jun 2015 10:59:16 +0000 (11:59 +0100)]
Add distro-info support for kernel names

Add a check on the distribution name and
support checking for the kernel package name
based on the suite specified. Add a kernel-package
option for other situations.

4 years agotweak shebang - 2
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 20:17:48 +0000 (21:17 +0100)]
tweak shebang - 2

4 years agotweak shebang
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 20:15:40 +0000 (21:15 +0100)]
tweak shebang

4 years agopylint tweaks
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:58:54 +0000 (20:58 +0100)]
pylint tweaks

4 years agoSet a default boot partition offset with grub
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:52:25 +0000 (20:52 +0100)]
Set a default boot partition offset with grub

Installing grub with boot partition requires an offset before
the first partition. Closes: #782307.

4 years agoExclude syslinux support when using grub
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:33:27 +0000 (20:33 +0100)]
Exclude syslinux support when using grub

Fall back to syslinux support if grub2 fails.

4 years agoOnly configure console if serial-console is set
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:29:02 +0000 (20:29 +0100)]
Only configure console if serial-console is set

Closes: #782304
Adapted patch from Jan Gerber <j@mailb.org>

4 years agoApply armhf default to examples.
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:20:09 +0000 (20:20 +0100)]
Apply armhf default to examples.

Drop calls to --no-kernel and --package for armhf examples.

4 years agoDefault to armmp kernel for armhf architecture.
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 19:13:53 +0000 (20:13 +0100)]
Default to armmp kernel for armhf architecture.

From: Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@debian.org>
Bug: #776975

4 years agoAdd an image extraction helper
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 17:57:16 +0000 (18:57 +0100)]
Add an image extraction helper

vmextract can use python-guestfs to extract files and
directories from an image without needing root privileges.

4 years agoAdd dosfstools to bbb example for vfat fschk support.
Neil Williams [Sat, 2 May 2015 17:38:33 +0000 (18:38 +0100)]
Add dosfstools to bbb example for vfat fschk support.

4 years agoinstall grub-pc instead of grub2
Neil Williams [Fri, 10 Apr 2015 06:23:57 +0000 (07:23 +0100)]
install grub-pc instead of grub2

Ubuntu only has grub-pc in its main repository
while the grub2 transitional package is in
universe. To support creating Ubuntu images install
grub-pc. This works for both Debian and Ubuntu.
Jan Gerber <j@mailb.org>

4 years agoadvise use of foreign when using arch
Neil Williams [Wed, 21 Jan 2015 11:02:18 +0000 (11:02 +0000)]
advise use of foreign when using arch

4 years agoimprove the wandboard uboot uEnv.txt content again
Neil Williams [Mon, 5 Jan 2015 16:05:48 +0000 (16:05 +0000)]
improve the wandboard uboot uEnv.txt content again

4 years agoescape minus signs in manpage
Neil Williams [Sun, 4 Jan 2015 15:27:44 +0000 (15:27 +0000)]
escape minus signs in manpage

4 years agofix typo in script
Neil Williams [Sun, 4 Jan 2015 15:20:53 +0000 (15:20 +0000)]
fix typo in script

4 years agoImprove wandboard support
Neil Williams [Tue, 30 Dec 2014 21:34:05 +0000 (21:34 +0000)]
Improve wandboard support

4 years agopython3 tweak
Neil Williams [Sun, 4 Jan 2015 13:26:58 +0000 (13:26 +0000)]
python3 tweak

4 years agoEnsure all tests for swap look for a number
Neil Williams [Sun, 4 Jan 2015 13:07:05 +0000 (13:07 +0000)]
Ensure all tests for swap look for a number

settings['swap'] is bytesize, so is set to 0
when not in use.

4 years agoAllow builds without a tty
Neil Williams [Sun, 4 Jan 2015 12:12:35 +0000 (12:12 +0000)]
Allow builds without a tty

Closes: #747373
Patch from Nick Daly <nick.m.daly@gmail.com>

4 years agoUpdate manpage to current default mirror
Neil Williams [Sat, 3 Jan 2015 10:48:44 +0000 (10:48 +0000)]
Update manpage to current default mirror

Closes: #774477

4 years agoSet serial and graphical grub output terminal
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 18:22:02 +0000 (18:22 +0000)]
Set serial and graphical grub output terminal

Allows qemu to boot a GRUB image with the
-nographic option.

4 years agoAdd swap support
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 18:21:09 +0000 (18:21 +0000)]
Add swap support

Closes: #764337

4 years agoallow setting rootfstype to support ext3
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 14:14:17 +0000 (14:14 +0000)]
allow setting rootfstype to support ext3

4 years agotrim cubietruck example to a possible vm image
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 13:57:46 +0000 (13:57 +0000)]
trim cubietruck example to a possible vm image

4 years agosilence the apt update in configure-apt
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 13:30:25 +0000 (13:30 +0000)]
silence the apt update in configure-apt

4 years agoClarify the ARM support for vmdebootstrap
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 13:21:26 +0000 (13:21 +0000)]
Clarify the ARM support for vmdebootstrap

4 years agoSet whoami owner outside the call to sudo
Neil Williams [Fri, 2 Jan 2015 10:43:55 +0000 (10:43 +0000)]
Set whoami owner outside the call to sudo

4 years agoAllow chown to operate with tarballs
Neil Williams [Tue, 30 Dec 2014 21:34:05 +0000 (21:34 +0000)]
Allow chown to operate with tarballs

Ensure apt has usable lists by running update
in configure_apt.
Fix typo in installed_packages.

4 years agoadd mbr back to support extlinux and check for installation of mbr.
Neil Williams [Sat, 27 Dec 2014 10:12:07 +0000 (10:12 +0000)]
add mbr back to support extlinux and check for installation of mbr.

4 years agofix creation of extlinux configuration
Neil Williams [Thu, 25 Dec 2014 15:04:38 +0000 (15:04 +0000)]
fix creation of extlinux configuration

4 years agoadd modules to cubietruck example and provide a wandboard example based on that.
Neil Williams [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 18:41:41 +0000 (18:41 +0000)]
add modules to cubietruck example and provide a wandboard example based on that.

4 years agodrop necessary packages and use the include list directly
Neil Williams [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 17:29:15 +0000 (17:29 +0000)]
drop necessary packages and use the include list directly

4 years agoAllow space for a bootloader installed with dd
Neil Williams [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 16:15:20 +0000 (16:15 +0000)]
Allow space for a bootloader installed with dd

Implement bootoffset to explcitly allow space for
a bootloader to be installed in front of the
first partition. Add support for cubietruck in
the example to dd the Debian uboot image by adding
a parameter to the customise script call.
Increase size of boot partition to make upgrades easier.
Allow the partition type to be specified.
Use mib units as these are converted to 1024 instead of 1000.

4 years agoFix package lists if no necessary packages exist
Neil Williams [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 16:25:39 +0000 (16:25 +0000)]
Fix package lists if no necessary packages exist

On foreign architectures, it is quite possible to
not have "necessary_packages", so append the user-
specified list and the necessary list separately.
Tidy up undefined local variables.

4 years agoImprove structure and fix pylint issues
Neil Williams [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 16:23:10 +0000 (16:23 +0000)]
Improve structure and fix pylint issues

4 years agoPrint which distribution is being debootstrapped
Neil Williams [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 16:19:01 +0000 (16:19 +0000)]
Print which distribution is being debootstrapped

Closes: #767806

4 years agoAdd support for apt mirror and package list.
Neil Williams [Mon, 22 Dec 2014 21:02:08 +0000 (21:02 +0000)]
Add support for apt mirror and package list.

Include support to assist with official images, including
changing from a local mirror to a specified apt mirror
and outputting the list of binary package names installed.

5 years agoFix typo in bootsize partition space
Neil Williams [Sun, 16 Nov 2014 15:10:24 +0000 (15:10 +0000)]
Fix typo in bootsize partition space

Update manpage advice on bootloader options.

5 years agoUpdate manpage for mbr
Neil Williams [Sat, 18 Oct 2014 18:35:19 +0000 (19:35 +0100)]
Update manpage for mbr

Some images using extlinux may need mbr installed
when booted other than with QEMU.

5 years agoAdd sparse option to not fill image with zeros
Neil Williams [Sat, 18 Oct 2014 16:24:45 +0000 (17:24 +0100)]
Add sparse option to not fill image with zeros

Patch from Jan Gerber <j@mailb.org>

5 years agoimprove error message with a hint to install grub2-common
Neil Williams [Sat, 18 Oct 2014 08:36:44 +0000 (09:36 +0100)]
improve error message with a hint to install grub2-common

5 years agoSwitch to http.debian.net
Neil Williams [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 18:58:36 +0000 (19:58 +0100)]
Switch to http.debian.net

5 years agoRun update-initramfs -u after installing kernel
Neil Williams [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 18:52:58 +0000 (19:52 +0100)]
Run update-initramfs -u after installing kernel

The kernel package can be installed with the
rest of the package but ensure that the initramfs
is updated after all packages are installed.

5 years agopep8 fixes
Neil Williams [Sun, 31 Aug 2014 21:13:51 +0000 (14:13 -0700)]
pep8 fixes

5 years agoAdd environment support to runcmd and pass noninteractive environment to second-stage...
Neil Williams [Sun, 31 Aug 2014 20:27:27 +0000 (13:27 -0700)]
Add environment support to runcmd and pass noninteractive environment to second-stage as debootstrap does this automatically on native runs.

5 years agoexpand manpage content for customise script
Neil Williams [Thu, 28 Aug 2014 18:38:48 +0000 (11:38 -0700)]
expand manpage content for customise script

5 years agoFix call to the example script and note requirement for sudo.
Neil Williams [Thu, 28 Aug 2014 18:21:00 +0000 (11:21 -0700)]
Fix call to the example script and note requirement for sudo.

5 years agoUse simple subprocess call for default_arch to prevent early use of run_cmd causing...
Neil Williams [Thu, 28 Aug 2014 17:53:32 +0000 (10:53 -0700)]
Use simple subprocess call for default_arch to prevent early use of run_cmd causing problems with log output

5 years agohandle missing customise scripts cleanly with fallback to upstream examples.
Neil Williams [Thu, 28 Aug 2014 17:12:02 +0000 (10:12 -0700)]
handle missing customise scripts cleanly with fallback to upstream examples.

5 years agoMerge branch 'codehelp/bugfixes'
Neil Williams [Thu, 28 Aug 2014 05:49:04 +0000 (22:49 -0700)]
Merge branch 'codehelp/bugfixes'

5 years agoAllow option to chown the image when complete.
Neil Williams [Sun, 10 Aug 2014 13:32:55 +0000 (14:32 +0100)]
Allow option to chown the image when complete.

(Closes: #748477)
Patch from Nick Daly <nick.m.daly@gmail.com>

5 years agoupdate manpage
Neil Williams [Wed, 27 Aug 2014 05:37:35 +0000 (22:37 -0700)]
update manpage

5 years agoDocument support for grub2 with fallback to extlinux on wheezy.
Neil Williams [Wed, 27 Aug 2014 05:11:42 +0000 (22:11 -0700)]
Document support for grub2 with fallback to extlinux on wheezy.

5 years agoAdd support for grub2 configuration, falling back to extlinux on error.
Neil Williams [Wed, 27 Aug 2014 05:11:19 +0000 (22:11 -0700)]
Add support for grub2 configuration, falling back to extlinux on error.

5 years agoLet configure-apt be optional to prevent duplicate apt sources on native.
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 20:46:57 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
Let configure-apt be optional to prevent duplicate apt sources on native.

5 years agoUse the dpkg architecture as the default
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 20:31:20 +0000 (13:31 -0700)]
Use the dpkg architecture as the default

5 years agoMake x86 calls conditional to allow for use on other linux architectures.
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 20:28:06 +0000 (13:28 -0700)]
Make x86 calls conditional to allow for use on other linux architectures.

5 years agofix typo in option name
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 20:27:29 +0000 (13:27 -0700)]
fix typo in option name

5 years agoprepare for merge
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 20:10:43 +0000 (13:10 -0700)]
prepare for merge

5 years agofix permissions on lava example script.
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 20:04:29 +0000 (13:04 -0700)]
fix permissions on lava example script.

5 years agoAdd examples to go into /usr/share to make it easier to create pre-defined images.
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 02:42:52 +0000 (19:42 -0700)]
Add examples to go into /usr/share to make it easier to create pre-defined images.

5 years agoAdd notes on debootstrap and details of new option
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 02:42:17 +0000 (19:42 -0700)]
Add notes on debootstrap and details of new option

5 years agoAdd configure_apt option and preserve the debootstrap log in case of debootstrap...
Neil Williams [Tue, 26 Aug 2014 02:41:53 +0000 (19:41 -0700)]
Add configure_apt option and preserve the debootstrap log in case of debootstrap failures.

5 years agopep8 fixes
Neil Williams [Mon, 25 Aug 2014 20:32:21 +0000 (13:32 -0700)]
pep8 fixes

5 years agoAdd manpage content for newly added options.
Neil Williams [Mon, 25 Aug 2014 04:48:01 +0000 (21:48 -0700)]
Add manpage content for newly added options.

5 years agoAdd squashfs support
Neil Williams [Sun, 24 Aug 2014 22:40:26 +0000 (15:40 -0700)]
Add squashfs support

5 years agoMove inittab change outside extlinux install function to allow usage on systems not...
Neil Williams [Sun, 24 Aug 2014 18:30:35 +0000 (11:30 -0700)]
Move inittab change outside extlinux install function to allow usage on systems not using extlinux.

5 years agoMerge Debian manpage changes
Neil Williams [Sun, 10 Aug 2014 13:34:23 +0000 (14:34 +0100)]
Merge Debian manpage changes

Update for changes in master branch.

5 years agoAllow option to chown the image when complete.
Neil Williams [Sun, 10 Aug 2014 13:32:55 +0000 (14:32 +0100)]
Allow option to chown the image when complete.

(Closes: #748477)
Patch from Nick Daly <nick.m.daly@gmail.com>

5 years agoFix typo in README
Tollef Fog Heen [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 08:56:50 +0000 (10:56 +0200)]
Fix typo in README

5 years agoIgnore failure to set host name
Tollef Fog Heen [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 08:53:52 +0000 (10:53 +0200)]
Ignore failure to set host name

At least minbase does not end up with an /etc/hosts file, so ignore
IOErrors for the hosts file.

5 years agoCheck for extlinux, not no-extlinux, fixes crash
Tollef Fog Heen [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 08:17:11 +0000 (10:17 +0200)]
Check for extlinux, not no-extlinux, fixes crash

5 years agoChange --no-extlinux to --extlinux
Lars Wirzenius [Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:49:23 +0000 (21:49 +0000)]
Change --no-extlinux to --extlinux

This way, we have options --extlinux (default) and --no-extlinux,
instead of --no-extlinux and --no-no-extlinux.